Cricketer Sana Mir selected in ICC women’s ODI team of 2018

Islamabad, Jan 1 (INP) – The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the women’s One-day and Twenty20 International teams of the year 2018 with New Zealand’s Suzie Bates as the captain of the 50-over squad, and India’s Harmanpreet Kaur as the captain of the 20-over squad.

Pakistani Allrounder Sana Mir took to Facebook after her selection in the squad, and expressed her pleasure.

Moreover, cricketers Bates (New Zealand), Alyssa Healy (Australia), Smriti Mandhana (India) and Poonam Yadav (India) feature in both the ODI and T20I squads.

The two sides have been selected by the same voting academy, which comprised members of the media and broadcasters who also voted for the annual women’s individual awards, and took into consideration player performances in the 2018 calendar year.

Bates’ appointment as the ODI captain is a recognition of her contribution in inspiring her side to second position in the ICC Women’s Championship after three rounds. In the seven ODIs this calendar year, Bates has scored 438 runs with two centuries and a half-century. Bates is presently ranked seventh in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s Players Rankings for ODI Batters.

Kaur has been rewarded for spearheading her side to the semi-final of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in the Caribbean in November. In that tournament, Kaur scored 183 runs at a strike-rate of 160.5, while in the 25 matches in the calendar year, she accumulated 663 runs at a strike-rate of 126.2. Kaur is ranked third in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s Player Rankings for T20I Batters.

Reacting to the news, Bates said: “Thank you very much to everyone who voted for the ICC team of the year. To be named captain is just an absolute honour. Obviously, I have been playing for a long time and stepped down from captaincy, but to be named captain of a World XI is pretty special and something I will always remember.

“It would be nice one day if we got together to play as a group and to captain some of the superstars, but once again such a huge honour and congratulations to all the award winners for this year.”

Kaur was delighted to be appointed T20 captain, when she said: “To be honest, it was really surprising for me. The last two years we did not get enough T20I matches to play and it was really tough for me to build that confidence in the team and show that self-belief that we can do well in T20Is. Credit goes to all team members, the way they worked hard and show that self-belief.

For Sana Mir, this is a second ICC recognition in as many months after her delivery to Ireland’s Laura Delany in the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 was voted as the Play of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018. Sana has been selected in the ICC squad following her 19 wickets in seven matches and is top-ranked in the ODI bowling table.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

  1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
  2. Tammy Beaumont (England)
  3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand) (captain)
  4. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)
  5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
  6. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper)
  7. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)
  8. Deandra Dottin (Windies)
  9. Sana Mir (Pakistan)
  10. Sophie Ecclestone (England)
  11. Poonam Yadav (India)


ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (in batting order):

  1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
  2. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper)
  3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
  4. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (captain)
  5. Natalie Sciver (England)
  6. Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  7. Ashleigh Gardner (Australia)
  8. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)
  9. Megan Schutt (Australia)
  10. Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh)
  11. Poonam Yadav (India)