Non-bailable arrest warrant of Shaukat Yousafzai in PTV attack case issued

ISLAMABAD, Feb 12 (INP): The Anti Terrorism Court (ATC) of Islamabad Tuesday has issued non-bailable arrest warrants of 26 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) workers including Khyber Pakhtunkhuwa’s Information Minister Shaukat Yousafzai, in PTV, Parliament attack case.

The non-bailable warrant for the KP minister was issued over his non appearance before the court in the case.

The court has ordered the police to arrest and produce Yousafzai before it. During Tuesday’s hearing the ATC granted one day exemption from the court appearance to Federal Ministers Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Asad Umar and Shafqat Mehmood. However, the pleas seeking acquittal of President Arif Alvi, Prime Minister Imran Khan and Jehangir Tareen could not be taken up today. Later, the hearing of the case was adjourned till March 28. In 2014, PTI chief Imran Khan and PAT leader Tahirul Qadri took to streets in the federal capital against alleged rigging in 2013 general elections and Model Town incident respectively. In this regard, police had booked Imran Khan and Dr Qadri along with their supporters in a number of cases during the 2014 sit-in calling for the resignation of the then prime minister Nawaz Sharif. INP/AK